Community Award Recipients - Jewish Federation

Pamela Waechter z”l Jewish Communal Professional of the Year Award
Honoring a professional at a Jewish organization who embodies the qualities of leadership and service that Pamela Waechter z”l brought to Jewish Puget Sound.

Dr. Charles & Lillian Kaplan Board Chair’s Award for Outstanding Service
Recognizing extraordinary commitment and impact to the Jewish community.

Jack J. & Charlotte Spitzer Young Leadership Award
Honoring up-and-coming community leaders who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to service in the Jewish community.

Tikkun Olam Award for Public Service
Honoring public servants for distinguished service to Jewish Puget Sound.

Althea Stroum Woman of Distinction Award
Recognizing outstanding dedication and service to the Jewish community.

Grinspoon-Steinhardt Award for Excellence in Jewish Education
Honoring outstanding professionals in the field of Jewish education. (The final Grinspoon-Steinhardt award was given in 2015.)



Pamela Waechter z”l Jewish Communal Professional of the Year Award
2018 Pamela Lavitt
2017 Andrew Chadick
2016 Karen Chachkes
2015 Lisa Kranseler and Lisa Schultz Golden
2014 Zach Carstensen and Dana Weiner
2013 Galit Ezekiel
2012 Marcie Wirth
2011 Ilana Cone Kennedy and Amee Sherer
2010 Rivy Poupko Kletenik
2009 Amy Wasser-Simpson
2008 Tziviah Goldberg
2007 Donald Armstrong




Dr. Charles & Lillian Kaplan Board Chair’s Award for Outstanding Service
2018 Lisa Brashem
2017 Linda Clifton
2016 Marilyn Corets
2015 Shelley Bensussen
2014 David Ellenhorn and David Stiefel
2013 Dan Lowen
2012 Corey Salka
2011 Robin Boehler
2010 Andrew Cohen
2009 Iantha Sidell
2007 David Ellenhorn and Ron Leibsohn
2006 Rob Spitzer
2005 David Stiefel
2004 Carl Bianco
2003 Michele Rosen
2002 Sally Narodick
2001 Hal Jackson & Gail and Bob Stagman
2000 Samis Foundation
1999 Bader, Martin, Ross & Smith, PS
1998 Bobbi Bridge
1997 Eileen Gilman, Francine Loeb, and Irwin Treiger
1996 The Boeing Company
1995 Ernest Stiefel
1994 Joshua Gortler
1993 Michele Rosen
1992 The Polack  Family: Morris, Edith, and Jack
1991 Herb Bridge
1990 Henry Friedman
1989 Stanley V. Piha
1988 Rob Spitzer
1987 Haim Skubatch
1986 Lucy Pruzan
1985 Sid Weiner and the United Way
1984 Eugene Arfin
1983 Max Gurvich
1982 Paula Rose and Herbert Rosen
1981 Irwin Treiger
1980 Phyllis Stern
1979 Michael Schuffler, MD




Jack J. & Charlotte Spitzer Young Leadership Award
2018 Alyssa Bobman and Nathan Wasserman
2017 Jacquelyn Wiviott
2016 Aric Bomsztyk
2015 Eric Hasson
2014 Lindsay O’Neil and Brooke Pariser
2013 Rob Dolin
2012 Zane Brown, Jr. and Kim Fisher
2011 Dan Lowen and Elizabeth Siegel
2010 Jack Almo and Alexa Huggins
2009 Aric Bomsztyk and Aaron Kiviat
2008 Tammy Federman
2007 Shelley Bensussen and Suzi LeVine
2006 Albert Israel and Tana Senn
2005 Renee Herst and Noah Tratt
2004 Susan Eastern and Aaron Rose
2003 David Ellenhorn and Alise Tarica
2002 Steven Hemmat and Amy Schottenstein
2001 Hal Jackson and Patty Lazarus
2000 Joshua Adler, Alayne Sulkin, and Naomi Newman
1999 Beth Huppin and Louis Treiger
1998 James Polack and Karen Treiger
1997 Connie Kanter and Robert Low
1996 Stephen Loeb and Kathleen Spitzer
1995 Eli Almo and Suzanne Goren
1994 Robin Boehler and Judy Neuman
1993 Peter Goldman and Valerie Piha
1992 Jerry Bass and Lauren Jassny
1991 Carol Harris and David Stiefel
1990 Ed Bridge and Karen Gamoran
1989 Pamela Feinstein and David Rind
1988 Janet Gray and Stanley Rosen
1987 Stanley Piha and Michele Rosen
1986 Judy Uslan and John Hellman
1985 Merrily Laytner z”l, Michele Hasson, Peter Rettman, and Joel Starin z”l
1984 Ellen Hellman and Michael Schuffler, MD
1983 Ann Marie Putter z”l and Sinai L. Putter
1982 Peter Shapiro and Carol Starin
1981 Barry Ernstoff and Maria Erlitz
1980 Charles Caplan, MD, and Sheila Sternberg
1979 Albert Maimon and Gail Shapiro z”l
1978 Sandra Ostroff and David Sternoff z”l
1977 Craig Sternberg and Nancy Sternoff
1976 Tzipora Londinski and Ronald Weinstein
1975 Susan Alhadeff and Laurence Finegold
1974 Sharon Finegold and Gerald Ostroff




Tikkun Olam Award for Public Service
Chief Kathleen O’Toole and the Seattle Police Department
State Senator Bob Hasegawa and State Representative Luis Moscoso
Jewish Legislative Caucus
State Senator Ed Murray
State Senator Joe McDermott and State Representative Jamie Pedersen




Althea Stroum Woman of Distinction Award
Robin Boehler
Iantha Sidell
Michele Rosen
Betty Lou Treiger
Faye Sarkowsky
Babs Fisher
Lucy Pruzan
Eileen Gilman
Francine Loeb
Althea Stroum




Grinspoon-Steinhardt Award for Excellence in Jewish Education
2015* Sara Weiss
2014 Andi Neuwirth
2013 Rabbi Yehuda Rapoport
2012 Shoshana Stombaugh
2010 Sonya Basseri
2009 Gail Ben Meir
*Final year of Grinspoon-Steinhardt Award
Our Impact


Participants are involved in SAFE Washington, which works closely with law enforcement to make community security resources available to over 100 Jewish organizations in Washington State.