Join Us June 17 to Celebrate Community!

By Nancy B. Greer
President & CEO
On June 17, your Jewish Federation of Greater will hold our 2021 annual meeting, that special gathering when we pause, look back at our accomplishments over the past year, and honor lay leaders and professionals who have added spark to Jewish life with their passion, amazing creativity, and 24/7 commitment.

We are coming together at a time of both peril and hope. Antisemitism is at its highest level in decades, a painful and frightening reminder that we can never rest in our collective battle against hatred. At the same time, there are stronger signs that the pandemic at last is on the downslope and reopening is on the horizon. This is our second virtual annual meeting, and I am hopeful that for next year’s annual meeting, we can gather in person, with no screen separating our smiles.

The fight against antisemitism and the hard work of keeping our community connected during a worldwide pandemic have tested our resilience and ignited our innovation in the spirit of Hitlamdut, the Jewish value of openness to learning. I invite you to join us to learn about our shared impact in the past year—from advocating for Jewish priorities in our state and national capitals to providing community security services, from expanding opportunities for compelling Jewish experiences to helping Jews in need overseas, and much more. We accomplished them together, because everything that we do at Federation is possible because of many generous people like you.

And I invite you to join us in celebrating the recipients of our annual Community Awards and recognizing what their dedication to community has accomplished for all of us, especially in this year of enormous challenges. This year, we will honor:

Pamela Waechter z”l Jewish Communal Professional Award
Min An, Chief Operating Officer, Kline Galland
Zach Duitch, Executive Director, Camp Solomon Schechter

Dr. Charles & Lillian Kaplan Board Chair’s Award for Outstanding Service
Diane Sigel

Jack J. & Charlotte Spitzer Young Leadership Award
Will Wright and Elana Zana

Tikkun Olam Award for Public Service
Reverend Paul Benz, Co-Director, Faith Action Network

Cardozo Society L’Dor V’Dor Award
Janet Gray, Jeppesen Gray Sakai P.S.

Each of our award recipients has used their innate talents, experiences, and dedication to the common good to touch many lives for the better. Our annual meeting is a public setting for recognizing their achievements and being inspired by their example of service.

Celebrating our community’s vibrancy, diversity, and beauty, in the spirit of our shared value of Kavod HaBriyot, honoring the creations, is why I look forward so much to our annual meeting. We’re gathering on Thursday, June 17, at 7 pm. Please join us!