Let’s Celebrate Community Impact on June 16

By Nancy B. Greer

President & CEO
Every year brings a unique set of challenges and opportunities for Jewish life, and this year has been no exception. From navigating the return to in-person gatherings to our coming together in response to the Ukraine crisis, our community has made do and pulled together in ways that testify to its resilience and can-do spirit.

Your Jewish Federation of Greater Seattle invites you to our 2022 Annual Meeting to celebrate what we have accomplished together over the past 12 months and to honor people who have made exceptional contributions to Jewish life.

This year’s meeting will take place on Thursday, June 16, beginning at 7 pm. For the first time since 2019, our annual meeting will be in-person. We will gather at the Stroum Jewish Community Center—and, recognizing that the pandemic has not gone away, the meeting will be livestreamed as well. You can register for the annual meeting here.

As a sneak preview, I want to mention a few of the past year’s impacts that we’ll be highlighting. These accomplishments were the result of generous donors like you stepping up, paying it forward to keep Jewish life strong, especially in the past turbulent year, when so often, the world’s troubles cast such long shadows.

When Russia attacked Ukraine, we collaborated with partners in an unprecedented, community-wide effort that raised well north of $2 million to help Ukrainian Jews, provide humanitarian relief to refugees, and support resettlement.

That strong response was in part the result of strong community leadership. Investing in leadership development pays off for the long term. Your Federation has made that a high priority, and we’re eager to share with you the various ways we are seeding Jewish Puget Sound with strong, passionate volunteer leaders.

I invite you to join us to be inspired by this year’s Community Award recipients, volunteers and communal professionals who have made an outstanding difference for Jewish life. This year’s honorees are:

Dee Simon
Pamela Waechter z”l Jewish Communal Professional Award

Jeff Slotnick
Dr. Charles & Lillian Kaplan Board Chair’s Award for Outstanding Service

Julia Abelev and Jay Riffkin
Jack J. & Charlotte Spitzer Young Leadership Award

Washington State Senators Reuven Carlyle and David Frockt
Tikkun Olam Award for Public Service

King County Superior Court Judge Andrea Darvas
L’Dor V’Dor Award

Join us June 16 to give our award recipients the recognition they have earned and to celebrate the impact you have made and the lives you have touched in the past year. We are looking forward to seeing you!